simply living, seeing

drawing of a jar filled with rocks

Certain kinds of beauty come when the artist is a raw beginner.  Sometimes I’ve pulled out old drawings and appreciate anew the memories they evoke.  I wish I had drawn more.  Would that I had drawn tirelessly.  Lack of confidence trips up too many young artists.  But the drawings I made when I knew comparatively nothing have a raw, innocent candor.  And now I find I seek the beginner’s mind.

I began drawing some years ago using my left hand (I’m right-handed).  I wanted to get the awkwardness back, wanted it to slow me down and trip me up, and make me think harder about where my hand’s lines would go.  I have loved the wavy line that is the consequence.  The two kinds of drawings, right and left, seem to have slightly different personalities.  It’s like finding your alter ego.  There you are long lost twin! Anything to recapture that sense of the beginning.

Gazing at life itself, let go of preconceived ideas about what drawing should be or how it should look.  Sometimes be an explorer of the uncharted territory. The uncharted world can include something as mundane as a jar of rocks. Rocks are ancient. You’re never older than a rock.

You are living your life for the first time.  It’s all new.  Even when you’re old, you’ve never been old before. When you are old, the world is still new. No matter your age life is still life. Life is there to behold and even available to capture with a bold, adventurous, possibly a carefree line.


2 comments

  1. interesting reflections on craft here! As a writer I see the same thing in newer writers. They often underestimate their own worth, by comparing it to more established writers. Missing that their raw perspective, to me anyways, is often more interesting, as the expertise in craft isn’t overriding it. I try to remember all this as I am learning a new skill, that those moments of struggle and doubt in the beginning, really are the best part in a way. Thanks for reminding me!


Leave a comment