Monet on my mind

Monet-like imagery created on watercolor paper using acrylic paint, by Aletha Kuschan, study for complex technique
experimental image for learning complex technique using acrylic

Willie Nelson had Georgia on his mind. Monet has been on mine. The image above is a further development of the image I posted yesterday. I added more color, more lines, all rather capriciously — though with yet a bit of method to my madness. After I had made these additions rather randomly, I began recognizing that some of the effects resemble passages in Monet paintings when their surfaces are seen very close. That realization in turn caused me to think that these lively marks might be the next technique I need to use in order to have my Meadow come alive. (I have a large meadow painting in the works.)

These were good discoveries because, as so often happens, while trying out these new-to-me methods I began wondering if my efforts were too much of just “fiddling around.” I spent a long time learning to draw, but here I am smacking the surface with a loaded paint brush with little rhyme or reason. I’m glad I kept going. The surface is turning out to be very interesting and I’d have never come upon these effects by any sort of laborious, deliberate effort.

Sometimes you really do need to push paint around. I have begun using similar means on the meadow. Preliminary results look promising. And I have decided to substitute curiosity for skepticism. These are not new discoveries. Monet was painting his late waterlilies a century ago. And they’re like “an old sweet song” now. And they’re on my mind.


4 comments

  1. I find it difficult at times to balance skill with discipline, especially with a new medium. It seems to me a lesson that have to learn time and again, that I have rein in my enthusiasm to achieve a more satisfactory end result.


Leave a comment