Overlapping Shapes

notebook sketch

The pictures were leaning up against each other, willy nilly, and I was in that fuzzy frame of mind that should be familiar to everyone when your eyes go out of focus, you’re not really thinking about anything, between tasks, even between thoughts, then my gaze drifted by chance upon those pictures and suddenly I seemed to understand something about abstraction. One of the pictures was a gesture drawing, large, made using a timer, when I was first toying with abstract imagery. It was draped over a large practice canvas that has an abstract image inspired by the methods of some artists I saw on Youtube. Seen out of focus, one picture blurred into the other, and then the whole grouping of them momentarily looked like leaves.

It’s autumn here and leaves are beginning to fall. They drop from the sky, carried sometimes by the breeze, otherwise planted by gravity, and they land one upon another in random arrangements. I decided to begin drawing some amorphous shapes as though they were leaves, falling on top of each other. This is the first drawing.

I have gone back to elementary school. I am relearning the elements.


2 comments


Leave a comment